Is a bigger house better?


When my husband and I bought our first and only home almost 25 years ago it was our “starter” home.  We didn’t have kids (wouldn’t have them for another six years) and figured we would eventually trade up for a bigger house as our needs grew and so did our incomes.  But somehow we never got around to upgrading, which turned out to be a good thing because once the kids came we worked part time for eight years until my husband got laid off.  In hindsight, we didn’t really need a bigger house so it was a blessing our incomes dropped before we could make any kind of move.

I heard on the radio the other day the average size of a new house in 2013 was 2598 square feet.  After hearing that, it’s hard to believe people can live in an 84 square foot house like this woman or this man in a 300 square foot micro apartment.  I’ve consciously decided not to carry a large purse like many women because I know it means carrying around a lot of stuff I don’t need.  I think the size of a house works the same way.  The bigger the house the more belongings you’ll accumulate that you probably don’t need.  I don’t want to end up like my parents, moving lots of stuff I probably don’t need.

One thought on “Is a bigger house better?

  1. “Larger” truth has never been spoken: You just don’t need it. Let’s start with the carbon footprint of a large house… I don’t think I need to say any more about that! And the concluding line is the take home message (pun intended): The more room you have, the more you will fill it up with unnecessary “stuff”. As Michael Card says: “… You can’t believe the freedom you’ll find from the things you leave behind!”. Thanks for sharing this article.

Leave a Reply

