Disconnect and refresh


For me the bad winter weather was a blessing in disguise.  I holed up for long periods compared to the past two mild winters.  I took the opportunity to spend time doing things I don’t always have the time to do. Or I should say, I don’t make the time to do.

After dinner, I get my stuff ready for the next day, packing clothing or lunches, and get settled into comfortable clothes.  Then I settle down to read email, watch some TV and surf the internet, and before you know it I’ve spent my entire evening with the electronics in my life.  I know that once I get into this mode I won’t do anything else for the rest of the night, so sometimes I try to delay sitting down.

With the extra time spent at home, I made a conscious effort to avoid the TV, my laptop and Kindle Fire.  I spent a lot of time reading (17 books to date this year: 7 audiobooks, 1 ebook & 9 physical books) and have even had time to sit down at my piano and play for an hour here or there (I was actually only able to really get to my piano about 6 months ago-that’s a story for another day) or sit down for a quick song once in a while. I’ve done a lot more cooking and baking.  My current favorite recipe is Ina Garten’s Raspberry Crumble Bars, which has been a hit with everyone’s who has tried it.  My co-workers love it when I bring goodies to work to share.  And I’ve spent full days with friends scrap-booking and catching up.

Time spent “off the grid” has refreshed and rejuvenated me.  I’m thankful for the extra time to do things I enjoy and need to make it a point to continue to do so.

How do you make sure your life isn’t completely consumed by the devices in your life?

2 thoughts on “Disconnect and refresh

  1. Growing up Cathoilc, I was always used to controlling my behavior – at least once a year:) This year, my wife, and several others that I’ve been hearing from, put down the “FaceBook” – yes – for 40 days. And everyone lived. And she loved it!

    The Church, in Her wisdom, helps us begin good habits anytime of the year…these ‘physical’ disiplines can help us with our ‘spiritual’ disiplines as well.

    And as you’ve stated, she found / did “other things”…those other things of far more greater value, by default.

    To me, Email, surfing the net, etc. = T.V. No real difference in the end. Because as we all know, at the end of the day, we all know what we ‘ought’ to be doing instead!

    Whenever we go to the Adirondacks, I call ahead – and have the T.V. removed from the cabin prior to our arrival. We don’t check any email, surf, etc. Even if it rains. Then we play ‘analog’ games, or grab the umbrella and walk.

    In short, throughout the year, we’ve learned to just force ourselves to ‘just do it’! Un-plug, that is . . .

    – Mark / Greece, NY

  2. Mark, what a wonderful experience you are giving to your family. They will look back on this when they’re older and realize how special this time is.

Leave a Reply

