The best season


Fall has always been my favorite season.  The advent of fall signals the start of a new school year, the end of hot weather and beautiful autumn colors. September means the start of the pro football season.  Having been a Buffalo Bills season ticket holder for 22 years, I still look forward to opening day.  My priorities have changed a bit over the years, so I’m not as gung ho as I used to be. September is also the start of good sleeping weather, cooler nights and dryer days. Best of all, September offers a bounty of fresh fruits and vegetables.

I finally got a chance to to hit the Rochester Public Market on Labor Day weekend.  There were so many choices and bargains it was hard to limit myself to what I could eat, cook or dry during the upcoming week. I got a $2 seedless watermelon and had to pass up $6 8-quart baskets of fresh peaches because I had already picked some up earlier in the week.  The last batch of peaches was made into a pie, some peaches were dried and others eaten fresh.  My husband and son really enjoyed the pepperoni and cheese Stromboli I brought home.

I have started visiting one of the two Chili farm markets on Saturday mornings.  Saturday I picked up some tomatoes to slow roast in the oven and eat with fresh mozzarella and basil from my yard, drizzled with a little balsamic glaze.  It’s so easy to be a locavore at this time of year.

Another fun thing to do in the fall is go apple picking.  We live about 2.5 miles from Whittier Fruit Farm where you can pick apples (they’re also at the North Chili farm market).  It turns out they grow 27 varieties of apples. They have tractor rides on the weekends.  It’s a great family outing and picking apples doesn’t take very long compared to picking raspberries and is not as hard on the knees and back like picking strawberries.  Because our apple tree is loaded down with apples (I’m guessing  at least 500) I probably won’t go picking this year unless it’s for one of my favorite varieties: Honey Crisp or Autumn Crisp.  Whittier also has PYO blueberries at their Niagara county location.

Picking apples in 2008

Autumn is such a great time of year.  What are your favorite things to do in the fall?

Leave a Reply

