Getting dragged into the digital world


I’ve been a PCWorld subscriber for quite a while.  I enjoy keeping up with the changes in technology and getting tips and tricks that improve my user experience.  It’s one of a few magazines I’ve subscribed to for more than 10 years.

When I received my August issue my heart sank when I saw the attached cover sheet announcing This is the LAST PRINT ISSUE of PCWorld.  This had happened to me before, magazines I enjoyed suddenly going out of print. We all know that in the shrinking world of print media it’s a definite possibility with publications we read in a paper format.

The difference with this announcement is PCWorld also announced they’re going all digital.  The publishers will offer enhanced digital formats for Android, Kindle Fire and iOS 5.0+ iPads, and PDF versions for other platforms.  A few months previously, PCWorld announced the availability of editions on a variety of platforms, free to subscribers.  I immediately went to Amazon’s Kindle store to download the app, only to be disappointed when I couldn’t get it to work.  After reading numerous reviews by people who were experiencing similar issues to mine, I gave up and came back to it just a few weeks ago.  By then PC World had managed to fix the issue with their App and I was able to download my first edition onto my Kindle.

pcworldappI’m still not happy with the move to a digital format.  In general, I prefer to get my magazines in print and reference the digital version for enhanced features.  I favor my paper version for a number of reasons:

  • it gives me a physical reminder of something I need to read. I tend to lose track of electronic documents with all my devices (laptop, net-book, Kindle) so it’s easy to forget I have something I’ve been meaning to read.
  • I give it to my friend Steve to read when I’m done.  I like being able to share.
  • my eyes need a break from looking at electronic devices.  I’m on a computer all day at work, so I like to give my eyes a rest

While I realize the move by the publishers was inevitable, I’m still a reluctant traveler on this journey into the digital world.  It remains to be seen whether I’ll renew my subscription when it expires later this year.

Leave a Reply

