Getting in the mood


With the warm weather we’re having in western New York this late in December, it’s hard to get in the mood for the holidays.  One thing that always gets me in the mood is to play some holiday tunes.

I’ve been a holiday music junkie for a while now. I’ve got about 30 holiday CDs and dozens of MP3s that I’ve gotten for free.  My kids roll their eyes at me when I pull the box of CDs out after Thanksgiving.  I try to ween my collection every year, picking up a couple of new ones and getting rid of some ones that don’t thrill me anymore.  My all time favorite tunes are Carol of the Bells and O Holy Night and love new and different arrangements of either.

I’m always on the lookout for free holiday music.  You might want to check out the free Paste 2012 Holiday Sampler, offering a generous 21 songs to add cheer to your holiday.

Some of my favorite holiday CDs:

perfectxmas

The Perfect Christmas: Holiday Music 2006 -Wonderful double compilation CD that benefited the Make A Wish foundation

homexmas

Home for the Holidays by Amy Grant – This CD is about 20 years old but it’s still one of my favorites.

I love the fact that these CDs benefit Special Olympics.  I bought the 25 year CD last month and just got number five earlier this year. (I have a few others but these are my favorites.)

TSO

Christmas Eve and Other Stories by Trans-Siberian Orchestra – has some classic rock style Christmas tunes

boogiecrazy

If you want some upbeat holiday music, you can’t go wrong with the Brian Setzer Orchestra.  The big band feel really adds to the spirit.

barenaked

There are 20 songs on this CD by the Barenaked Ladies and I really like how simple and clear they sound.

  Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Getting in the mood

    • Actually Dave, I don’t own any Mannheim. Sort of hard to believe given the number of albums I have. I know a lot of people enjoy their holiday albums.

Leave a Reply

