My favorite freeware and shareware


Many people have favorite apps for their smart phones.  I have my favorite freeware/shareware programs.

  • Irfanview is a wonderful freeware program for doing  basic photo  editing.  I like to use it to quickly crop photos and reduce their file size for posting.  It’s also a great tool for converting photos between different file formats.  I like using the shortcut keys to perform repetitive tasks.
  • Free  anti-malware software, Malwarebytes, has come in handy numerous times when one of our computers was infected with a nasty trojan or other spyware.  I’ve been able to restore a computer and laptop to health without having to reinstall Windows.  I’ve installed it on all our computers just in case it’s needed at some point in the future. I recommend you do the same.
  • Ever since I discovered Snipping Tool I use it all the time, both at work and at home. It’s the next best thing since sliced bread.  Snipping Tool lets you grab a portion of your screen and create an .HTML, .JPG, .PNG or .GIF.  In the past you had to install a separate piece of software in order to do that.  Snipping Tool is a part of Windows, starting with Vista.  You can find it in the Accessories folder in the Start menu.
  • Avg Free, Avast and MS Security Essentials are all decent free anti-virus programs. I have used all three on various computers in our house.  My theory is why spend money for something when there are free versions that works relatively decently.  Your ISP may also supply free anti-virus software if you don’t like any of these.
  • John’s Background Switcher is a great free utility for displaying pictures on your desktop.  I like that it lets me choose where to pull the pictures from, including pics from my Facebook (FB) friends.  Since I don’t spend much time on FB these days, I like seeing pictures of friends and family “pop up.”  You can customize the software to display one or multiple pictures and set the interval of time to switch photos.  Seeing new pics, or old ones I haven’t seen in a while always puts a smile on my face.
  • Kodak Easyshare software lets me quickly add captions to my photos and upload them to Kodak Gallery albums (more on that topic in a future post). I can easily load pictures to Facebook from the software as well.  I use my Gallery albums to host pictures of items I’m selling.  The software also has decent red eye removal capabilities.

What’s your favorite freeware or app?

Leave a Reply

