The challenge


Tonight I finally achieved a personal goal of mine and donated my 100th pint of whole blood.  If you do the math, that’s 50 quarts, 1600 oz., or 12.5 gallons.

It took a long time to reach that milestone (about 30 years).  I was inspired by my mother, who at 76 is still donating. Between her whole blood and apheresis donations Mom has donated around 275 times!

I have always been a proponent of blood donations.  For people who can’t afford to give a monetary gift, donating blood only costs an hour of your time.  The Red Cross visited my workplace on a regular basis, giving me more  opportunities for donating.  This helped make up for the times when I couldn’t donate. The last few years I’ve made it a priority to donate the maximum six times per year.

The challenge:  If I can donate 100 times, I’d like to inspire my direct connections on LinkedIn and Facebook to donate blood one time.  My goal is to get 100 of my 700+ direct connections donate (you have until April 23, 2013). I realize not every If I reach my goal I’ll donate $100 to the American Red Cross. I’ve started a Challenge Wall where I’ll record the name of everyone who donates.

Send me a message through LinkedIn or Facebook letting me know the date of your donation and I’ll post your name to the “wall.”  If you prefer to remain anonymous let me know that.  If you’re reading this post and aren’t already connected to me, feel free to reach out to me (mheine at frontiernet.net) so we can get to know each other.

3 thoughts on “The challenge

  1. Pingback: Donate NOW « Maximizing money for stuff

  2. Pingback: It’s time to eat local again | Money for stuff

  3. Pingback: 14 and counting | Money for stuff

Leave a Reply

