Energy efficient cooking


One way to save money is to do your own cooking. I love to cook but don’t have as much time as I used to.  I’m always looking for ways to save time and money. A microwave is a standard these days and probably used more than a regular stove. I have my other favorite gadgets that are also energy savers.

  • My favorite low tech gadget is my mandoline cutter.  My knife skills are not on par with an Iron Chef, so if I have a lot of slicing to do, out comes my mandoline. I’ve had it 25 years and it’s still works great.
  • My Pampered Chef Food Chopper comes out when I have lots of chopping and dicing to do. It comes in really handy when I’m making soup and cutting up lots of vegetables.
  • My 5.5 quart Crockpot is a mainstay in the winter.  I love throwing the ingredients into it in the morning and having dinner waiting for me later in the day.  About a year ago I also picked up a 1.5 quart crock.  I originally bought it for serving appetizers but found it’s the perfect size for cooking a 3 lb. pork roast.  I’m getting more use out of the smaller size than I ever imagined.  My friend Steve even borrowed it to use in his van during a Finger Lakes wine tour.
  • I grew up without ever using a toaster oven and never wanted one cluttering my kitchen counter. My husband brought home a G.E. convection toaster oven one day and I fell in love with how quickly it heated up and how I could really cook, not just toast, items in it.  My oven can hold a frozen pizza and can rotisserie a chicken though I haven’t tried that feature out.  Not having to heat up my kitchen with a hot oven in the summer….priceless.

What are your favorite energy saving gadgets?

Leave a Reply

