Take some time


Since this is Thanksgiving week I thought it would be a good time to sit back and think about all the things I’m thankful for.  I don’t do this often enough and I think it helps bring perspective.

If you’re like me, you might consider how fortunate you are when you hear about a friend with a serious illness or some catastrophe elsewhere in the world.  Sometimes it’s easy to focus on all the bad things happening in our lives, but if you really think about it, we all have a lot to be grateful for.

Here’s my list of things I’m truly grateful for:

  • A healthy family (including me) that very rarely takes sick days, visits a doctor or takes prescription medicine
  • A job I like with affordable benefits.  After being laid off for most of 2009 I no longer take this for granted.  I know of many friends and old co-workers who aren’t as lucky.
  • I’ve been able to spend more time with my aging parents.  My dad turned 80 this year, Mom turned 76. I treasure the time I get to spend with them.
  • Some of the best friends in the world.  They support me in all I do and are there when I need a pick-me-up.
  • Technology that allows me to stay in touch with family and friends no matter where I am or where they are.  It also allows me to share my values with like-minded people through this blog.
  • I live in the beautiful, affordable city  (I’m not including property taxes) of Rochester, with lots of opportunities for getting out and doing things.  Rochester is a great place to be in spring, summer, fall and winter.  And we don’t have devastating catastrophes like earthquakes, forest fires, droughts, and monsoons.
  • I live in a county that offers me the freedom to pursue my own path in life.

Take some time to focus on the positive things in your life.  You’ll feel better for it.

Leave a Reply

