Save yourself the aggravation


Has this ever happened to you?  You go to a store and you find an item you like but they don’t have the color/size combination you want.  My next step is to ask a store associate if they can check other stores in Rochester or Buffalo to see if they have it.

At most stores, employees can check their computer system to see if other stores have the item is available somewhere else.  Then they’ll call the other store to have them hold the item for you.   Then you have to be sure to get to the store by the next day since most stores will only hold items until the close of the following business day.  You’ve just committed to spending more time and more gas to save a few bucks.

I realize you can buy stuff online and save yourself the total aggravation of having a store be out of an item, but I’m too cheap to pay the shipping cost.  Besides, I need to try most clothing items on before buying.

JC Penney and Kohl’s have made it a lot easier for people like me.  Kohl’s stores now have kiosks where I can order the item I’m looking for, that was out of stock in their store, right from their website.  They’ll ship it direct to my home for free.  No more extra trips to other stores.  I was even able to apply my 30% off coupon at checkout.

Penney’s has a similar option.  If you can’t find the exact item you’re looking for then go to one of their Customer Service desks and ask an associate to check if they have it available on their online store. If they do, then they can place an order and have it shipped directly to your home for free. 

I’m always hesitant to order clothing and other items online since I don’t want to have to pay to return them. The nice thing with both of these retailers is you can return online items directly to their stores.

Penneys and Kohl’s are both exhibiting a level of service that will keep me coming back and saving me a lot of time and aggravation.

P.S. My sister tells me Payless will also direct ship shoes for free if they don’t have the size you want in the store.

Leave a Reply

