Are you doing enough at work?


Most people are good at being green and recycling at home.  Most workplaces make it easy to recycle paper by placing blue recycle bins in key locations.  Usually in the cafeteria you can recycle your bottles and cans.    But what are you doing at work to help the planet?

  • The easiest thing you can do is use less paper.  I have set my default print settings for 2-sided printing and my co-workers can always tell which printouts are mine.   For large documents I’ll print 2 pages on each side of the paper so I’m using only 1/4 of the paper.  Using less paper helps the company’s costs and reduces recycling costs. (To change your default printer settings in Windows, open the Control Panel and select Devices and Printers.  Right click on  your printer and select Printing Preferences.  Select your 2-sided printing options and select OK.)  I’ve even submitted a suggestion at work to have printer settings set to 2-sided by default.
  • I’ve brought in a Tupperware plate and reusable plastic silverware.  I use them for meals I bring from home and whenever we have cake or pizza.  Over the years I’ve saved a lot of paper products from going in the trash.  I’ve seen people at work who bring in real plates and silverware.
  • Sometimes I’ll bring frozen entrees for my lunch. In Monroe County where I live, the plastic dish and the box are both recyclable. In Niagara County where I work they don’t recycle plastics except for bottles with 1’s and 2’s on the bottom.  I’ve been known to carry items home with me so I can recycle them instead of throwing them in the trash.
  • When bringing my lunch to work I use reusable containers instead of plastics bags which end up in the trash.  I use to bring small bags of potato chips or pretzels for snacks.  Now I just bring in the entire bag and dish out snack size portions (warning: this requires will power).  It also saves me the time for portioning out the snacks.

What are you and your company doing to be greener at work?

2 thoughts on “Are you doing enough at work?

  1. We have three bins: Compost, Recycle and Trash/Landfill. We have compostable cups made from potatoes for guests; Employees and contractors use washable cups and bottles. The flatware is made from potatoes and is compostable. The trash can is labeled “Landfill” to reinforce the fact that anything thrown in it is not reused.

    • George, I’ve never heard of potato flatware but I think it’s very cool. Sounds like your company is really trying.

Leave a Reply

