Turn them around and inside out


People who know me know I’m a bit of a clothes horse.  My clothes aren’t real expensive but I acquired quite a collection over the years and still have quite an investment in my wardrobe. In 2009 when I was unemployed, I was able to take advantage of my large wardrobe and got to wear clothes I hadn’t worn much in past years and since I couldn’t afford to buy many new items I was glad to have a large selection to choose from.

I’ve always had a hard time getting rid of clothes.  If something goes out of style, I still hang on to it in the hopes that it will eventually make a comeback.  My closet is stuffed and I have about 6 totes of out of season clothes and shoes I keep in the attic.  I spent this past weekend putting away the winter clothing and bringing out the spring and summer clothing. Another reason I’m reluctant to let go of items I bought is because I somehow get the feeling that getting rid of an item means I probably shouldn’t have bought it in the first place.

Seven months ago when I got out my fall and winter clothes I tried a suggestion I had heard which would help me prune my wardrobe.  I hung all the clothes in the closet with the hangers facing towards me instead of away.  Once I wear something the hanger gets turned around.  This allows me to see how much of my clothes I actually wear.  I  know some clothes I wear often and others hardly at all.  These past few months, at least once a week, I tried to wear something I hadn’t worn yet.  So as I put away my clothes away, I had to make some tough decisions.  It was time to let go of  pants that didn’t really fit and wouldn’t likely ever fit again.  And I’m not a twenty year old anymore so the some of the shorter skirts were out too.  It felt good to let go even though I probably didn’t get rid of as many as I could have.

So now as I get out the spring and summer clothes I’m backing to turning everything around and trying to wean some more items out.  I have a lot of items that go in my dresser drawers so I’ve turned all of those inside out to indicate I haven’t worn them yet and 6 months from now I’ll see what’s still turned around which means I should get rid of it.

This method is working for me so if your closet is bursting at the seams you might want to give it a try.

One thought on “Turn them around and inside out

  1. Pingback: Time to turn ‘em around and inside out | Money for stuff

Leave a Reply

