Become a bag lady(guy)


Has this ever happened to you?  You walk into a grocery store for a few items, grab a shopping cart and walk out with a cart full of items.  I realize this is an exercise in self-control.  I will readily admit that I find all sorts of stuff that I don’t need or didn’t intend to buy.  So I have a plan for dealing with this.

When I plan to buy just a few items I enter the store with one or two of my reusable shopping bags.  My rule is that I have to use the bags to carry my items.  I can carry things in my hands and the bags but if I can’t carry it, then I can’t buy it.  I love to troll the aisles for bargains which means I usually walk out with many more items and spend way more money than I intended.  It’s a lot harder to do that when you have to carry everything.

If I’m going to do a week’s worth of shopping I’ll grab a cart, but if I really only need to pick up a few things then I become a bag lady.  Try it, you might save some money.

2 thoughts on “Become a bag lady(guy)

  1. Michelle, this sounds like a good strategy. I have a similar strategy, and that is to use the shopping basket rather than the cart. If the basket is too much to carry then I need to think twice!

    • Yes that is a very similar strategy except I don’t think I’ve ever seen anyone walking around with 2 shopping baskets. 😉

      Michele

Leave a Reply

