Amazonian rules


I started getting the warning notices from Amazon a few weeks ago.  This year, like every year I’ve been a seller on Amazon, they are enacting the Holiday Selling Guidelines in Toys and Games, which means I get booted from selling toys or games for the holiday season.   Why are they doing this?  “We want to ensure that our sellers in Toys & Games provide a high-quality customer experience” which I guess you can’t be expected to do if you don’t meet their criteria:

  • First sale on Amazon.com must be prior to 09/20/2010
  • Seller must have processed and shipped at least 25 orders during the 60 consecutive days preceding 11/1/2010.
  • No greater than 1% short term order defect rate as of 11/1/2010.
  • No greater than 2.5% pre-fulfillment cancel rate for the trailing 30-days preceding 11/1/2010.
  • No greater than 5% late shipment rate for the trailing 30-days preceding 11/1/201

I understand they are trying to protect their customers, but the little  guy (me) takes the hit.  I meet all of the criteria above except the second one.  Over half the items I am selling in my Amazon store fall into the toy category, which means they’ll get deleted next month.   During the holiday season I usually focus on trying to sell my items on Craigslist since my profit margin is usually better than on Ebay.  I have much more success selling toys at this time of year, whether it’s on Craigslist, Amazon or Ebay.  The one aspect I find annoying is that I have to go back and re-list all of the items after the blackout period is over.

So don’t think about starting to sell toys on Amazon this holiday season.  It’s already too late for you to qualify.

Leave a Reply

