Have you tried secondhand?


For a few weeks now I’ve been in the market for some more summer clothes for work.  I’ve been keeping my eye out for sales at my favorite stores Kohl’s and JC Penny’s.  Both of them have started to move on to fall clothing leaving slim pickings for warm weather items.   In the meantime, my 11-year old daughter finally decided she needed more shorts to finish out the summer. I’m hesitant to spend too much money on clothes for her since we’re halfway through the season and she’s still growing.

So this weekend I decided it was time to hit up a couple of secondhand stores.  Our first stop was the local Goodwill retail store.  When you donate clothing to the Goodwill this is where the items eventually end up.  I tried on a number of items and ended up buying five skirts.  We also found a brand new pair of sleep shorts and new necklace that my daughter picked out for her birthday.  I had a $5 coupon which let me save even more. To find a Goodwill store near you check out their store locator.  The great thing about shopping at the Goodwill store is that you know the money is going back to your local community.  Shopping at Goodwill is a win-win.  Don’t forget to drop off your donations before doing your shopping.

Right across the street from the Goodwill store is a Plato’s Closet.  Plato’s Closet is a line of second hand stores which focuses on name brand clothing for teens (and in my case tweens) and twenty-somethings.  You can bring your gently used clothing and accessories to Plato’s to sell.  My daughter only found a pair of shorts on this trip but at the beginning of summer she managed to find quite a number of items at reasonable prices.  She had been on my case to buy some items from Aeropostale and we managed to find a few shirts for about $7 each at Plato’s.  Check out their store locator to see if there is a store near you. 
Secondhand shopping can be fun and save you money.  If I had more time I’d be checking out Craigslist as well.  Where do you find secondhand clothing?

One thought on “Have you tried secondhand?

  1. Pingback: Back to School Shopping | Money for stuff

Leave a Reply

