The Price is Rite


Back in October I blogged about Aldi’s.  Another low priced, value grocery store found in the Rochester area is PriceRite.  PriceRite is currently only located in the northeastern part of the US so you may not find it in your part of the US. We are lucky to have three PriceRite stores in Rochester.


My favorite thing about PriceRite is its selection of fruits and vegetables. PriceRite stores are about 2-3 times the size of Aldi, but far smaller than a grocery superstore.  PriceRite’s produce departments are fairly big.  Aldi’s carries a limited selection of produce items and it is hit and miss when I find fruits or vegetables that are high on quality.  PriceRite’s produce department is wonderfully laid out and full of both common and unusual items.  It’s not quite on par with Wegman’s produce section, but it’s close.  What makes it better than Wegmans are the prices.  The prices can vary from day to day and week to week but I just bought some red peppers at PriceRite for $1.29/lb, while they are $2.99/lb at Wegman’s.  Up until the holidays I was regularly buying pomegranates for 2/$3.  (They don’t seem to be stocking them now.)  The quality of the fruits and vegetables at PriceRite is much better than Aldi’s.  I usually stop in weekly at PriceRite to stock up on produce.

Unlike Aldi, PriceRite also stocks name brand items.  PriceRite has a large selection of Hispanic and Italian foods. I usually peruse the aisles for any new items or bargains.  Some of my favorite finds at PriceRite, beyond the ones I’ve mentioned, are:

  • Friendly’s Ice Cream (1.5 qt)  – 2/$5
  • Frozen skillet meals with shrimp (24 oz) – $2.99
  • Sliced pepper jack cheese (1 lb.) – $3.49
  • Minute Maid Lemonade/Limeade (1/2 gal) – $.99
  • Turkey Hill Lemonade/Limeade (1/2 gal) – $1.49
  • LaYogurt yogurt (6 oz.) – 3/$1
  • Orange juice (1 gal) – $2.29
  • Frozen chicken strips (2 lb.) – $3.99
  • Whole pork loin – $.99/lb (during the holidays)
  • Mangoes – $.69

To keep costs low, PriceRite does not supply bags, however you can purchase them in the store but you will need to bag your own items.  They do not accept manufacturer’s coupons but they do accept credit cards, unlike Aldi.

PriceRite rarely runs sales, so flyers are infrequent.  Luckily there is a PriceRite next to my gym so I can stop in after my workout to pick up a few staples.

I like to visit all three: Wegman’s, Aldi, PriceRite, because they all have their advantages.  Which grocery store do you prefer?

8 thoughts on “The Price is Rite

  1. Hey Michelle, I personally like PriceRite, but usually go to Wegmans…convenience and habit I think. I’ve never been to Aldi’s. I love Trader Joe’s (in other parts of the country). You would as well:).

    Thanks for the info.
    Dorothy

    • I’d probably wouldn’t go as often if it weren’t for the fact that it’s in the same plaza as Planet Fitness. Would still like to try out Trader Joe’s since I’ve never been in one before.
      MIchele

  2. Hi – rumor had it Trader Joes was coming to Rochester with the development of City Place. Would love to continue to petition them to come. If you ever get to Boston, you can find them there. We used to call it high end wholesale.

  3. If you live on the westside, like I do, check out Big M. They’re located in Gates, Hilton, Brockport, they’re also in Clifton Springs and Warsaw.

    Today, I went there (before breakfast shame on me) and scored some BOGOS and twofers. I also discovered that I can get fresh squeezed orange juice for under $2.00 if I buy Tree Ripe brand versus $.4.00 for the Simply Orange brand which I was going to go to BJ’s to get it (two for approximately $5.00) and since I started out at BJ’s but they weren’t open at 8:45am, I was glad that I didn’t have to go back because as I said in the beginning, I was hungry.

  4. Pricerite just opened where i live. I went for the first time yesterday and i really liked it, even as jam packed as it was. Im a die hard aldi and wegmans fan, but this place is sorta likethe two combined…i still need to get a few things like dishwasher liquid and shampoo and laundry detergent at wegmans, but wegmans offers the cheapest pricing of all national brands there, and some things im not willing to comprimise price at price rite or aldi. But i loves pricerite. Its huge, has everything, awesome!!!

    • I’m glad you like Price Rite Jay. I was in there today picking up a few staple items. I do the majority of my shopping at Aldi and Price Rite and like you, there some things I’m still going to go to Wegman’s for, like the fresh bakery items.

  5. Pingback: April 6 | michele heine - 2015 pic per day

Leave a Reply

