Are you a hoarder/pack rat/collector/saver?


Meredith Janson, in her House Call article in the November 2009 issue of Family Circle, tackles the topic of clutter.  “The cure for clutter isn’t just devising a new storage system.  It’s figuring out why you’re holding on to the stuff in the first place. “

Look inside >
Cover
November 1, 2009

I can totally relate to what she is talking about, being a person in the midst of de-cluttering.  I like that Janson explores the various reasons people hoard stuff and tries to get at the root issue instead of just dealing with the immediate problem of too much stuff. Janson supplies research data that shows that too much chaos and untidiness saps mental energy and tires us out.  The disorder also reduces our productivity.

Borrow or pickup a copy of the magazine to check out her article and try some of her suggestions to improve and simplify your life.

6 thoughts on “Are you a hoarder/pack rat/collector/saver?

  1. Julie Morgenstern’s books address the emotional aspects of clutter, hording, etc. I had to change some behaviors, not just set up a new organizing system….
    Cathy

    • Thanks Cathy. I checked into these books on Amazon and look like they’d be good resources for people wanting to go further with their decluttering.
      Michele

  2. This caught my eye. I suspect I am all the above: hoarder/ pack rat/collector and saver. It’s all about not letting go emotionally perhaps and/or feeling safe with things around you. Some of it I like to blame on my Grama who was a child of the depression and was like a mother to me. As a matter of fact, her things afforded me a Halloween costume on many ocassions and I used the last of her Murphy’s Oil Soap to clean the kitchen cabinets this week. My Grama passed in 2003….. In any event I plan of checking the article out. Thanks Michele 🙂

    • Michelle
      I’m all of the above too to an extent, mostly because I hate to see things go to waste if I know they could possibly be of some value to someone at some time. Waste not, want not!

      Michele

  3. Pingback: Did you know hoarding is a disease? « How to maximize money for your stuff

Leave a Reply

